Ranil Wickremesinghe has become the new president of Sri Lanka after a secret vote in Parliament on Wednesday, after former president Gotabaya Rajapaksa was forced to leave office and leave the country in the midst of a wave of demonstrations due to the economic crisis .

The president of the Parliament, Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, announced that Wickremesinghe obtained 134 supports from the 225 parliamentarians who had to decide the future head of state of a nation mired in deep political and financial instability.

Conforms to The Trust Project criteria